First Impressions of The Nature of Reality

tumblr_mpvuztcH0v1qf4gzoo1_1280

♡ M O P I N G  M E C H A N I S MS  ♡

As humans, we have tendencies of constructing these realities in our minds that at times, only seem to accommodate our needs and desires; false hopes lead to disappointment and these are patterns we create subconsciously. It’s who we are. I think one of the best representations of this idea is Marina and the DiamondsElectra Heart. This is Marina’s second studio album that happens to be one of my all-time favorites. It revolves around Electra Heart, the character Marina is portraying. Electra Heart has four identities – or archetypes – that she switches from back and forth (Housewife, Beauty Queen, Homewrecker, Idle Teen). One of them is “Primadonna” or “Beauty Queen”  which I think fits specifically to this idea of false realities. In one of the songs on the album, “State of Dreaming” is PERFECT in regards to this unit of the Nature of Reality. In the chorus she says, “Yeah I’ve been living in the state of dreaming// living in a make-believe land” She feels that she isn’t living honestly. The whole album centers around this idea of false identities and love. Marina is one of the coolest, realist, most artistic musicians I’ve ever listened to. She once said, “Pop music should make you question who the hell you are”, and I think this is a great example of questioning who you are and the reality you live in. This Electra Heart era has taught me a lot along the way and I absolutely adore her for that.

 

Leave a comment